Quick Links

Quick Links

Horsham Nursery School

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS is a statutory document which is used by early years providers to set the standards for learning which supports the way in which we work with children from birth to the end of their reception year in school.

Fundamental to what children learn is how children learn and this is covered by the characteristics of effective learning:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

These elements form the foundation of our provision and underpin how our nursery operates and is organised to maximise opportunities for children to play, explore, experiment and communicate what they can do and what they observe.

There are 7 areas of learning and development divided into prime and specific areas;

Prime Areas             

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development
  • Personal social and emotional development

These areas form the key elements that enable children to develop their capacity to be healthy, learn, form relationships and thrive.

Children then begin to strengthen and apply the knowledge and skills they have gained through the 4 specific areas of learning:

Specific Areas       

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and design

All staff within the nursery are linked to an area of learning and are responsible for ensuring that experiences are offered to ensure children are able to develop and refine their knowledge and skills through exploring a range of activities and resources.

You can find the Statutory Document here.